#T5W: Favorite Non-Written Novels

Top 5 Wednesday (T5W) is a weekly book meme in which – you guessed it – you write about your top five ~~something~~ every Wednesday. Check out the group’s GoodReads page here. I took this week’s prompt fairly loosely 😛 Without further ado (and in no particular order) here’s my list!

t5w.gif

#1 Lore

lore-podcast

Lore is a podcast that I discovered in early January and immediately fell in love with. It’s a bi-weekly podcast about “true life scary stories” narrated by author Aaron Mahnke. It’s equal parts cool and creepy, with stories that pull you in and don’t let go. (PS: The background music is equally cool). Mahnke does a great job balancing the history with the lore and the natural with the supernatural in each episode … which makes them that much spookier. Bonus; it’s being made into a TV show by AmazonStudios!

#2 The Lord of the Rings audio books

e5048903b92baaa567c6c78837cd02f8

I, a nerd, listened to these audiobooks basically every night when I was going to sleep in middle school. Rob Inglis’s voice is probably seared into my subconscious. This probably explains a lot about who I am as a person. Anyway, they’re a really great rendition of Tolkien’s work and something to check out if you’re into Tolkien!

#3 Switch

kirk_and_mccoy_at_starfleet_academy-copy

So Switch is fanfiction, but if it was a novel it would 100% be one of my favorite novels of all time. It’s beyond long enough to be a novel and weighs in at 230,867 words (for comparison, that’s (significantly) longer than every Harry Potter book other than The Order of the Phoenix). I could go on about how fanfiction is the undiscovered gem of the literary world, but that will have to wait for another post 😛 My friends will attest that I’ve reread it … a lot (at least once a year since discovering it). It’s set in the new Star Trek universe (AKA the Alternate Original Series, or AOS), is told from the point of view of Dr. Leonard McCoy, and is absolutely fantastic. It is Kirk/McCoy, so you might not like it as much if you’re a Kirk/Spock person 😛

#4 BBC’s Merlin

merlincastphoto

I’m calling this one a ‘non-written novel’ because it’s a new, different rendition of an old story. BBC’s take on the Arthurian legend is definitely a fun one. Reimagining Merlin and Arthur in their mid-20s, Merlin brings the legend of King Arthur to the small screen and a new generation. It’s a fun show, with just enough weight to make it impactful.  It’s also notorious on the internet for having literally the most heartwrenching series finale on Christmas Eve. Fun sidenote: I took an English class about the Arthurian legend and my final paper was on Merlin 🙂

#5 Hamilton

hamilton

How could I not include Hamilton on this list? Lin-Manuel Miranda’s Broadway hit is truly a masterpiece of storytelling. I haven’t seen the show in person, but I have the soundtrack down pat. Who ever thought a musical about America’s founding fathers could be so great? Also, Miranda is just an all-around magnificent human being, which makes his success that much more awesome 🙂

Aaaaaand that’s my list! Let me know what you think in the comments! What are your favorite non-written novels?

10 thoughts on “#T5W: Favorite Non-Written Novels

  1. erucchii says:

    OMG YOU READ SWITCH!!! I LOVE SWITCH! ❤
    *cough* I love Spirk, I'm a Spirk fan first, but I love McKirk too ❤ haha Basically, as long as it has my baby Jim, I think I'll love it. Well, no, that's a lie cuz I ship Jim with only Spock or Bones.

    Love your list, btw~ 😀

    Like

    • CMG says:

      YES!!!<3 Such a good fic. McKirk is definitely one of my two favorite ships; I think it's tied with Stucky (Steve Rogers/Bucky Barnes) c: Jim is pretty great, isn't he? I do love Bones myself, which is probably why I ship them XD And thanks!

      Like

Leave a Reply

